Shawn Mendes Book Tag

For anyone who didn’t know I love Shawn Mendes (maybe a little too much). When I found this tag I couldn’t wait to do it. Enjoy!

STITCHES: a book that made you really sad and left you in pieces.

marleyandme

Marley and Me by John Grogan. Marley and Me is the only book that has ever made me sob. Marley was one of the sweetest (and craziest dogs ever). Even though I knew what would happen in the end I couldn’t prepare myself. To add on to my pain, I have a dog that is very similar to Marley. I don’t know anyone who hasn’t cried because of Marley and Me. Even though I loved the book, Marley and Me did leave me in pieces.

SOMETHING BIG: a book with a huge plot twist, or surprise.

vanishnggirls.jpg

Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver. The ending of Vanishing Girls took me completely by surprise. I actually had a little freak out. I had a few theories as to how that book would end but I was so wrong. It isn’t something you’d see coming unless you pay very close attention to detail. Vanishing Girls is the only Lauren Oliver book I’ve ever read and I liked it. I know a lot of people hate Lauren Oliver’s writing so let me know what you think. I loved the huge plot twist at the end of Vanishing Girls.

TREAT YOU BETTER: a character that you would treat better than the author did.

masonashfrod

Mason Ashford from Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. If you’ve read the Vampire Academy series you know what I’m talking about. I LOVED MASON!!! He was, sweet, funny, smart, caring, and he always put his friends first. Even though he listened to his heart more than his brain Mason was amazing. I love funny characters and Mason certainly was one. His character should have been explored much more than it was. Even though he was amazing he had lots of room for character development. I would have loved to see him become less dependent on Rose and learn to really be independent. If I had written Vampire Academy Mason Ashford would have been treated much, much, much better.

LIFE OF THE PARTY: a character that would be your best friend if he/she/they were real.

thetitanscurse

(Am I allowed to say Marley from Marley and Me? no. okay…)

Nico DiAngelo from Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan. Nico fucking DiAngelo. Nico has been through a lot of grief and struggle so he understands when someone is going through something hard.Nico DiAngelo is one of the only  characters in YA fiction who is close to the same age as me. Not only that but Nico is funny as hell. I want to have the teasing relationship he has with Will Solace but in friendship form. If I was best friends with Nico DiAngelo I would constantly steal his Nirvana shirts. If Nico was real he would be my best friend.

NEVER BE ALONE: a book that makes you feel like you’re not alone.

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. Okay so I know I mention this series in almost every post but it is the #1 book that makes me feel like I’m less alone. This book makes me feel less alone because I’m bisexual and Alec Lightwood introduced me to LGBTQ+ in fiction. In the time I was reading City of Bones I hadn’t figured my sexuality out yet but I also watched Alec struggle with being closeted. Even though I didn’t know it I had connected to Alec on a deeper level than I’ve ever connected to a character before. On a side note Alec and I share an extreme fear of losing the people closest to us. Alec Lightwood and City of Bones will always make me feel less alone.

SHOW YOU: an underrated/unpopular book/series that you would show everyone.

debbieharrysingsinfrench

Debbie Harry Sings In French by Meagan Brothers. While this isn’t my favorite book ever it definitely deserves more recognition. This is the only book I’ve ever read that involved drag culture. When I first read this book I had no idea what drag culture was and now I’m constantly watching RuPaul’s Drag Race and I even saw a Drag Queen performance at Pride. This book can definitely help someone who is looking to learn more about drag culture. Debbie Harry Sings in French is way too underrated.

Disclaimer none of the images used in this post belong to me.

-Emily

 

Leave a Reply

